3 Stages of Hair Growth

So many women sit in my chair and say their hair will only get to a certain length and then it stops growing.  That's why the turn to hair extensions to get the length they want without the wait. I thought it would be helpful to a lesson from cosmetology school about how our hair grows.

Our hair follicles go through 3 stages of growth:

  1. Anagen
  2. Catagen
  3. Telegen

Here are some quick facts. The length of the anagen phase is what determines your hair growth. The amount of time your follicle is in this part of the cycle is determined mostly by genetics. But can also be effected by hormones and other factors. On average this phase can last 2-7 years!⠀

The catagen phase is when the actual hair is cut off from its nutrient supply. This typically lasts 3 weeks. ⠀

Once hair enters into the Telegen phase it is then completely in a resting phase and can be combed out easily. (Average hair loss is 100 strands a day) If it happens to stay in there long enough the next new strand of hair can push it out of the follicle. ⠀

You learn something new every day!